Coming Home


20121224-171803.jpg

I’ve come home.

A few weeks ago, I accepted a new job, returning to my old stomping grounds — after being gone for more than a year and a half, I am once more working as a contractor at NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center.

It’s good to be back.

I’m here in a new capacity, and one that I am extremely excited about. During the nine years I was here originally, I supported NASA Education, primarily as a writer for the NASA homepage. In my new job, I’m working in communications, supporting the new Space Launch System, an in-development rocket that will eventually out-power even the Saturn V rocket that carried astronauts to the moon. It’s an incredible honor to be involved in the project; as much as I enjoyed working in education, it’s a very different sort of experience to be in a position where I’m playing a substantive role supporting the development of a new launch vehicle that will make possible the future of space exploration. I am, in a very real way, working to send human beings into the solar system, and that is more than a little unbelievable.

As I’m writing this, a bit in advance of publishing, I’m in the latter parts of the process of getting settled back in — getting various accounts re-activated, getting a new computer, and, ultimately, getting my new badge. As one thing after another is gradually restored, the feeling of coming home just gets stronger.

The new assignment means I’m working with a new team. There are many familiar faces I’ve encountered during my time here (including someone I went to kindergarten with), combined with several new faces. It’s a great team, and I love working with them. From my first interview, I just really enjoyed talking to these people, especially when I found myself lapsing back into a rarified dialect I’d not used in months. These people speak my language.

I’m quite excited to be starting this grand new adventure.

8 Responses

  1. Congratulations, David! As you begin this next chapter of life, you’ll find that everything you’ve ever worked at (salaried or volunteer) will contribute a measure of skill and insight to your new endeavors. Have a great New Year. Thanks for sharing with us fellow bloggers.

  2. What a great way to start 2013! I am thrilled for you to be back in your element.

  3. Thank you both! And Bette, I actually just wrote a post about that very idea. Great minds …

  4. That is AWESOME! I’m very happy for you and I know how thrilled you are to be back. And I’m really glad you didn’t take that job as a security officer on the Enterprise. They’re exploring a Lava Monster planet next week. Not good…

  5. Heh. Yeah, I’m fortunate that, as a consequence of my new job, I’ve been given the duties for which I’ve demonstrated unswerving ability, the promotion of a spaceship.

  6. Congrats David!! Having recently completed a job search myself, I very much appreciate the feeling of settling into something that is more regular. All the best to you in 2013!!

  7. Thanks so much, and congrats to you as well!

  8. Yay! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,131 other followers

