Song Challenge Week 15 — A Song That Describes You


OK, I started this quite a while back and then dropped the ball, but I’m going to try picking up the 30 Day Song Challenge again as a weekly project.


Song Challenge Week 15 — A Song That Describes You

“Alan Bean,” Hefner

So of course I read this prompt and my ego points out that no one song can define me. And, you know, my ego is totally right about that one.

I could pick a handful of songs that seem very “me” to me, but one in particular stands out as being sort of integral to my personal mission.

Hefner’s “Alan Bean” resonates for a few reasons. First, I like the fact that it’s about Alan Bean, the moonwalker with whom I have the most personal connection, and an all-around neat guy.

The bit about not giving up is encouraging, and the part about being changed by someone else’s prayer strikes a personal chord also.

But the thing about the song that I feel most describes me:

“And what you didn’t see
I’ll let you see through me.
I’m going to paint the moon for you.”

I’ve never been to the moon. Or to Skylab.

And I can’t paint.

But I’ve been blessed, very blessed, to get to see those things in a way most people don’t. And if I can’t paint, I can still tell a story. And because of that, I feel an obligation to share those things I’ve seen, to tell stories to let people see them in a way they otherwise couldn’t. And not just the moon, but Mississippi tornado recovery and Civil War invasions and falling out of airplanes and more.

And that’s a two-fold mandate. I feel the need to share the things I see so other people can see them, and also to see as much as I can so I can share it.

At the end of the day, I want to have lived a good story.

Leave a Reply

