Communicating With Santa


20121209-153905.jpgWhen I was contacted about helping out, I was told a list of the duties I’d be performing.

I knew that, well, of course I was going to do it when the list got to “Communicating With Santa Claus.” ‘Cause how do you NOT do that?

As an offshoot of my work with the EarlyWorks Family of Museums (including the Huntsville Historic Depot) over the last year or so, I’m working this month as a manager on duty of Santa’s Village at Alabama Constitution Village in downtown Huntsville.

If you’ve not brought your kids before, you should — kids get to decorate cookies, write letters to Santa, hear stories from Mrs. Claus, see live reindeers, and, of course, sit on Santa’s lap and have their picture made. With the music and snow machines, it’s delightfully Christmas-y, and I’m generally fairly Grinchy about holiday stuff. Tickets are only $5 each, and it’s well worth it.

I’ve been having a great time working it. The staff is wonderful, which makes my job easy, so I basically get to walk around and see kids and parents having a great time.

And, on the really great nights, I manage to convince the blacksmith he should take a break, and I go in and make some nails.

Leave a Reply

