Song Challenge Week 8 — A Song You Know All The Words To


OK, I started this quite a while back and then dropped the ball, but I’m going to try picking up the 30 Day Song Challenge again as a weekly project.


Week 8 — A Song You Know All The Words To

“What About Everything,” Carbon Leaf

Another hard one. As a writer, I take the words of songs seriously, so it’s a rare song that I don’t like at least in part because of the lyrics, and that means I’m know the words to almost all of my favorite songs. So which one to pick?

I considered “Loser,” by Beck, just because it’s one I’m particularly “proud” of knowing all of the words to. Proud in quotes because it’s not a particularly worthwhile skill, but it’s not exactly one where you can just guess the next line, you know?

But there’s not much of a story there, so I’ll go with “What About Everything?” by Carbon Leaf.

I’d been dating a girl who shared the band’s “Life Less Ordinary” with me, but she had gotten it from another ex, so that was all she had of theirs. I liked the song enough that I figured it was worth getting the CD, “Indian Summer,” to see if there was anything else we liked on it.

We put the CD in the car stereo on the way to Athens. We got as far as the second track before we stopped. “What About Everything?” is still right up alongside with “Life Less Ordinary” and a handful of others among my favorite Carbon Leaf songs, and it was love at first listen.

So we played it again.

And there were some parts we weren’t sure what they were saying, so I got out the lyrics, and we played it again.

By the fourth time we played it, we were starting to pick it up.

By the time we got to Athens, we still hadn’t listened to the third track, but we knew “What About Everything?” perfectly, word-for-word.

To this day, I still love most playing it in the car on a sunny day, singing along, word-for-word.

One Response

  1. The song that comes to mind first as a song I know all the words to is “Lost the Plot” by Newsboys. It’s on their last good album, Take Me To Your Leader.

    There are others, but that’s the first one that pops in my head. Probably because when I first heard it as a teenager, it convicted me hardcore.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,130 other followers

