Signals From Tranquility Base


In my defense, I have been blogging.

Oh, sure, up until Sunday, I hadn’t written on here in over two months, which is shameful, and I’m trying to do better.

But even thought I hadn’t been blogging here, I was still writing regular blog posts. You should read them. (And, hey, if I disappear again, you’ll know where to go to get that fix I know you’ll be wanting.)

Back before the beginning of the year, the social media manager at the U.S. Space & Rocket Center asked me if I would consider including in my volunteer work writing posts for the official USSRC blog. For the time being, that’s evolved from me being a blogger for the center to being the blogger for the center.

The results are online at Signals From Tranquility Base.

I was tasked with writing about artifacts in the museum’s collection, and I decided to write it using a “This Week In Space History” approach. Each week, I pick an event marking an anniversary, and tie it to an artifact in at the museum.

The fun part, though, is the stories. I try and find a different angle each time for the posts, making it a little bit more than just-the-facts.

I’m enjoying it. It’s been too long since I’ve written space stories on a regular basis, and I’ve missed it. After nine years at NASA, there are a lot of stories stuck in my head, and it makes me very happy to be able to share them again, to be able to tell them for such a good purpose.

And, you know, they really are some good stories.

Leave a Reply

