Cooking Is My Business


I’m official.

I mentioned, briefly, in one of the last blog posts I wrote on here before dropping off the face of the Earth, that I’d started selling Pampered Chef.

My mom suggested it. I’ve been trying to find any and all opportunities to make money, so I was talking to my mom one day, and the conversation went something like this:

“I don’t know if you would consider this, but …”
“Yes, yes, I would.” I don’t need to know what it is, I’ll at least consider it.

She told me a friend of hers was a Pampered Chef director, and had thought I might be interested. As it happened, a friend of mine the next day was holding a direct-sales marketing event, with representatives from several companies. I went to talk to people to see if there was a company that would be a good fit. Avon, for example, was ruled out pretty quickly.

I’ll skip the story of how I ended up with Pampered Chef, since that’s part of the spiel I give at parties. If you’d like to hear it, I’d love to help you host a show.

I was a bit nervous going into it. Just a little. I am traditionally so not a salesperson. Back in my newspaper days, I had to sell ads, and it was my least favorite part of the job. But this, this isn’t sales. This is just hanging out with people talking about fun toys. I never give a hard sales pitch, and thankfully I never have to.

I held my open house event in December, and then had a dry spell during the holidays before hitting my stride a bit more at the end of January. Last month, I submitted the highest sales of anyone on my team, which kind of surprised me.

I also last month qualified as an official Pampered Chef consultant.

Which means, among other things, that my Pampered Chef website is now online, for all of your Pampered Chef needs.

And, you know, I’m having fun.

I signed up as a way to make money, and, to be sure, I am, and it’s a much more enjoyable way of earning it per dollar than, say, the substitute teaching I’m also doing. But I’ve been surprised at how much I’m enjoying it. To be honest, the mental health benefits of getting to do shows is as valuable to me as the money.

I’ve also been surprised at how much I’ve enjoyed the toys. There are people who sign up purely as a way to get Pampered Chef items on the cheap, but that was pretty low on my list of priorities. The longer I do it, though, and the more toys I get to play with, the more it climbs on my list of benefits. I surprised myself at how excited I was to get my Round Covered Baker, and how much fun I’ve had with it since I got it.

And, for the record, I’d love to help you have fun with your own Round Covered Baker. You’ll love it, trust me.

2 Responses

  1. Please please please tell me you sell those extra hands in your photo on your website? 🙂

    No really, interestingly enough I have somehow acquired a consultant for just about every direct sell company out there (Mary Kay, Tupperware, Premier Jewelry, 31 Bags, etc, etc, etc) but NOT Pampered Chef. So congrats, you’re it! And if you ever want to, I don’t know, book parties with everyone you know in Houston, I’ll totally have one 🙂

  2. Yay! Glad to help in any way I can. And, yeah, a Houston party will definitely have to happen at some point. Been way too long since I’ve been over there.

Leave a Reply

