Why Do We Explore?


 

 

Sure, I’m biased, but this is rather cool, if I do say so myself.

A couple of weeks ago, NASA.gov posted a new storybook, Why Do We Explore, to the NASA Kids Club.

I’m biased because, if you play the thing, you’ll find that the narrator’s voice may sound familiar. Helping to write the words and recording the audio was one of the last things I did while working with NASA.

And, really, it’s a nice legacy. Leaving NASA was one of the harder decisions I’ve had to make. It was much more than a job for me; it was something I believed in. I love that I was able to leave that storybook behind as a key feature in the Kids Club. As a child, I was greatly inspired and excited by the early shuttle flights and other NASA missions, and now, even after I’m gone from the agency, I’ll still be helping to inspire and excite a new generation of kids to continue the grand adventure of exploration.

Human spaceflight is at a huge crossroads right now, and the next decade or so will be quite interesting. But the current uncertainty someday will pass, and today’s children will continue the voyage into the cosmos.

I’m honored to have had the opportunity to play a very very tiny role in that future.

 

 

Leave a Reply

