I Need A Job!


20110628-033549.jpg

For those that don’t know, I have been out of work for about two months now, and would very much appreciate any leads anyone has in helping me to find a job.

Very long story very short, I had hoped to take the opportunity to go back to school to get a master’s in counseling, which has been a dream of mine for many years. Unfortunately, however, it’s turned out that isn’t in the cards right now.

So, I’m very actively looking for new employment. For those that don’t know, most of my experience has been in writing — most recently for nine years as an writer for the education sections of the NASA Web site, and before that as a newspaper editor.

That said, I’m not going to limit myself to that if anybody knows anything they think I’d be good at. I love writing, but I also love new experiences and new challenges. For a broader view of what I do, my capsule description is “I am an award-winning former NASA writer, newspaper editor and history author, with experience in graphic art, Web design, social media and classroom education. I am looking to work with an organization that believes in leveraging the power of good communication.”

If anybody has any leads or ideas, I would very much appreciate them! Thanks!

3 Responses

  1. Hello,

    Is this the personal blog of the author of “Homesteading Space The Skylab story?” I am reading this book now, I have been lugging it around in my car for the past week now and reading bits and pieces of it whenever I can, between work. I am a struggling writer myself. I had a hard time getting your book, I live in Fargo North dakota. And I got the book through a interlibrary loan. I am sorry that I cannot be of much help for you with a job search. I was guessing that you were probably a millionare or something from the royalties of “Homesteading Space.” I am going through an addiction phase right now for reading books on Outer Space exploration. I just got through with Bruce Murray’s “Journey in Space,” and I was referred to your book on Amazon as I was writing a review for “Journey into Space”. You can read the Journey into Space review here at this link, under M. Scheppmann, http://www.amazon.com/Journey-Into-Space-Murray-Bruce/dp/0393307034/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1309552012&sr=1-1
    I definitely will write my own personal review of your book when I am done reading it. Like the librarian said, she picked it up and made the Oomph heavy gesture, and said “this is a big book!”
    Well I hope that I am not wasting too much of your time. I am a big fan of your book its awesome. Very well written and it is really a nice quality looking book. I love reading the dialogues going on between “Houston” and “Pete,” or “Houston” and “Joe.” All of the real human interaction and dialogue it has a very unique and almost a hollywood kind of feel. I wish that I could get into the minds of those people involved with the program, the Joes and the Petes and Rusy. I would rather spend my money on a book like “Homesteading space” and learning something, than wasting 10 bucks on a movie like Transformers. Hollywood seems always to have a powerful fetish too with the Space Program, at least going back to the kubrick film, 2001 Space Odyssey. Too bad they can’t enlighten us with true facts like a book can! I got a tiny brief understanding of Skylab with Journey Into Space, but Bruce Murray is apparently big-time with JPL and his love was the planetary space missions, Galileo and voyager, etc., that he was a part of. Skylab is fascinating though, I think so. It is the big technological paving stone for us to go to space, to colonize and as you say to “Stay there.”

    We’re in a big recession now I know. I am a member of LaRouche pac, who believes that there is an world-wide tragedy of culture happening now because of an ancient British model imperialist thinking. Which wants to keep us dumbed down and prevent us humanity from reaching our potential. They are an interesting political group. I keep a lot of their beliefs always handy in the back of my mind when I am reading books like yours “Homesteading Space,” because their optimism goes hand and hand with people like you and Bruce Murray, and everyone else trying to keep this candle torch of humanity going.
    Thank you so much I can’t wait to finish your book and write a review for it. Thanks again.

    –Mark Scheppmann

  2. Yep, that’s me. Glad you’re enjoying the book! Thanks so much for reading, and I look forward to your review!

  3. I have many stories and that will be change the history of filmy life so give me one chance to proof.

    Well I hope that I am not wasting too much of your time. I am a big fan of your book its awesome. Very well written and it is really a nice quality looking book. I love reading the dialogues going on between “Houston” and “Pete,” or “Houston” and “Joe.” All of the real human interaction and dialogue it has a very unique and almost a hollywood or bollywood kind of feel. I wish that I could get into the minds of those people involved with the program, the Joes and the Petes and Rusy. I would rather spend my money on a book like “Homesteading space” and learning something, than wasting 10 bucks on a movie like Transformers. Hollywood seems always to have a powerful fetish too with the Space Program, at least going back to the kubrick film, 2001 Space Odyssey.

Leave a Reply

