Song Challenge Day 2 — My Least Favorite Song


To make the Post A Day 2011 challenge a bit more bearable, I’ve set up a couple of regular features. Saturdays are for reviews (yesterday being an exception) and Sundays are for song lyrics. But I’m out of song lyric ideas, so I wanted a new regular Sunday feature. Keeping the music theme I’ve been using, I’m undertaking the 30 Day Song Challenge as a weekly project.


Week 2 — Your Least Favorite Song

“Through Glass,” Stone Sour

“Three hours is as big as an ear.”

I have no clue what that means.

We were driving back through Mississippi last week, and Finn asked how long it was going to take us to get somewhere, or how long we’d been driving, or something. And the answer was three hours.

To which the seven-year-old replies, “Three hours is as big as an ear.”

Your guess is as good as mine.

Which brings us to Stone Sour’s “Through Glass.”

I dislike this song.

A lot.

I turns out, doing a quick search, this is actually the third time I’ve mocked this song on my blog.

This first time was in a post about Taylor Swift’s “Love Story”:

That scarlet letter bit, for whatever reason, reminds me of one of my other least favorite song lyrics of the last decade, from Stone Sour’s “Through Glass”: “But no one ever tells you that forever feels like home.” You know, there may be a good reason for that; perhaps the same reason that no one ever tells you “solace tastes like distance” or “the past smells like family.”

The second time was in a post about the movie “Up in the Air”:

There was a song a few years ago that used to really bug me, “Through Glass,” by Stone Sour, that contained the line “no one ever tells you that forever feels like home.” Huh? You know, there’s probably a good reason nobody ever tells you that. They also never tell you that tomorrow smells like love or that possibility looks like neighbors. Home is a concept.

Really, that covers my problem with the song. I have nothing new to say.

Other than that, if they ever want another hit, maybe they should call Finn for help.

No one’d ever told me that three hours was as big as an ear before, either.

Leave a Reply

