Cutting The Cable


This is the latest in my series of blog entries taking a fresh look at a variety of topics. I’ve set up a page on the blog explaining the project and linking to my entries. This post’s topic is “Leisure Time.”

The last thing I watched on my cable at home was a Discovery channel special.

It had a segment on Skylab. I like Skylab.

I had my cable turned off when I realized that it had been almost four months since I’d turned in on. Not even since I’d actually watched a show, but since I had turned on the television other than to watch a DVD.

That’s been two and a half years ago.

Now, to be fair, I haven’t completely done without television shows. I’ve watched Futurama, Lost and Battlestar Galactica via iTunes.

And, for the sake of full disclosure, I will admit that there were three episodes of Lost that I watched at other people’s houses. One of them was just a nice bonus, but the other two were because I really wanted to see them “live.”

But, beyond that, I really don’t watch television.

This is the greatest thing in the world.

I never watched a lot, but cutting that cable, eliminating the temptation or even possibility of turning it on for a moment’s entertainment or as just background noise has also eliminated the possibility of getting sucked in.

It’s given me time.

Time to read, to write, to act, to take classes, to spend with Heather, to spend with the boys, to cook, to go to baseball practice and on and on and on.

I’ll admit, I’m crazy busy these days. Possibly too busy.

But I like having the time to do it.

A message came back from the great beyond
There’s fifty-seven channnels and nothin’ on

One Response

  1. Same here. We watch very little TV. The occasional Law & Order or SNL for me, but that’s it.

Leave a Reply

