365 And Counting


That picture there? That’s my 365th pic.

I’ve written about my participating in the 365project before, and posted some pictures.

I started the project on January 1, 2010.

Which, theoretically, means I should have finished at the end of December.

That didn’t happen.

Instead, here we are, two and a half months later, and I’m just wrapping up. (My Reconstruction project is running even more late. Alas.)

But I’ve now posted 365 pictures. Hoorah!

I wanted to do something “special” to mark the completion of the project. I wanted to shoot a picture in a mirror of my iPhone, since it was the camera with which I took almost all of the 365 pics. I decided to go with a rear-view mirror for the picture to kind of symbolize looking back from the end of the project. And decided to make it a bit of a self-portrait as well.

To be honest, I’m not sure how much I’ve gotten out of the project. I chose to use my iPhone almost exclusively so that I could really work on my composition, since that’s about all you can do with an iPhone, it lacking the fancy settings of my DSLR. The fact that it was terribly convenient for submitting the pictures was just an added bonus.

The problem was, I was wrong about composition being about the only tool the iPhone has. Sure, it lacks a lot of the DSLR settings, but mine now has an onboard suite of photo-editing software, which over the course of the project I became increasingly reliant on. My pictures were getting better, perhaps, but not because my actual photography skills were improving.

I took some pictures during the project that I really liked. I took a lot of pictures during the project that just met the daily quota. I really don’t have any sense of whether I’m any better at taking pictures or not.

Regardless, I’m going to keep going. I’ve met the 365 goal, but there’s nothing stopping from just continuing to take pictures.

I may change my approach; if there’s a day I don’t have a picture, I may be less likely to just take a picture I’m not happy with purely for the sake of having one.

We’ll see.

2 Responses

  1. Very cool. I like this picture. 🙂

  2. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

