Oscars And The Grouch


Another year has gone by, and once again the Academy For Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has released its annual metric for just how increasingly out of touch with the film world I’ve become.

Oscar Nominated Movies I Saw:

  • Inception
  • The Social Network
  • Toy Story 3
  • True Grit

Oscar-Nominated Movies I Didn’t See

  • Black Swan
  • The Fighter
  • The King’s Speech
  • The Kids Are All Right
  • 127 Hours
  • Winter’s Bone

Fifteen years ago, I would probably have seen 80 percent of the movies that were nominated, give or take a movie, and would be at 100 percent by the time of the ceremony. This year, I’ve not seen 60 percent of them, and have no intention to watch any of the ones I’ve not.  (Truth be told, I never even heard of Winter’s Bone.)

I don’t know how much of the change is me watching fewer movies, which I don’t know is the case; how much is my tastes changing; how much is that I used to be more likely to watch a movie because it was an “Oscar movie”; and how much, if any, is the Academy changing.

Speaking of the Academy changing, it’s interesting to note that after the discussion about how increasing the nominees from five to 10 would make more room for diversity and popular favorites, there doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of that this year. Toy Story 3 is the one obvious non-contender. Inception has the genre spot, but could have been nominated in a five-slot year.

In fact, personally, I’ll be pulling for Inception to win this year. To me, it’s the most ground-breaking of the nominees, and should be recognized for bringing something more to the table, in addition to just being an all-around good film.

How about you? How many of you seen? What will you be pulling for?

4 Responses

  1. I love toy story 3 and in the dream world, it would be great to see this movie win. The trilogy is one of the best trilogies of all times in my opinion. However, I believe most would be disappointed to see it win.

  2. I haven’t seen a movie at all in the theater since Inception, I don’t think. It’s also the only Oscar-nominated one I’ve seen.

    I suspect I’ll see True Grit and The Social Network before Oscar time.

  3. I saw three movies at the theater last year, and none of them were nominated for anything. Not that I expected Hot Tub Time Machine to be nominated for anything. But I thought Tron: Legacy might be nominated for visual effects or even possibly the soundtrack. It really is a great soundtrack.

    I’ll just keep thinking in my mind that Jeff Bridges was nominated for True Grit and Tron:Legacy…

  4. I have seen the same ones you have. I love that True Grit is being nominated, but would certainly not be disappointed to see Inception OR Social Network receive their share of nods.

Leave a Reply

