This Is A Test


Working with Photoshop CS5 -- new feature: Sha...

Image by Sebastian Anthony via Flickr

So I’ve switched over to a different editor format for my blog, and added some new features, and so I’m writing this post purely for the sake of trying them out (for myself) and demonstrating them (for you, my readers, who probably don’t care).

I don’t really have a whole lot to say at this point, but you have to write so much before the new features start working. For example, after that sentence, there’s a button that will let me make the word “editor” in the first paragraph a link to the “editor” article on Wikipedia, and the words “new features” a link to, well, something.

I can also automatically insert pictures that said new features believe relate to the post, but apparently I can only insert one picture at a time.

Also, when it let me link to Wikipedia, it gave me a choice of multiple places I could link it to. That’s kinda neat.

It automatically suggests tags for the post, and gave me a list of related articles that I can add to the post.

There’s a feature that allows me to declare this post “super-awesome,” but I have no idea what that means.

Also, I now have a feature to add a “more” cut to the post.

So let’s try all this out, shall we:

“I love you,” declared Cynthia DeBose to her crewmate Dirk McJett, her rustling flightsuit almost exactly one of the shades of blue visible on Earth as it grew gradually smaller in the viewscreen, “and not just for the man you are today, but for the cyborg you’re becoming.”

“And I, Cynthia, love you,” Dirk responded, “with both the natural organic portions of my heart and the cybernetic prosthesis that replaces my aorta, making me fifty percent more efficient at pumping blood in a variety of gravitational regimes — and at loving you.”

“And I love you both,” interjected RX-27B, which, in fact, was offering a prefabricatedly polite untruth, because its robotic circuits did not truly allow it to experience love, not because such emotions could not be recreated in hardware and software, but rather because the lessons learned during the expedition to Saturn‘s moon Enceladus three years earlier had revealed what a phenomenally bad idea it was to program robots to experience human-esque attachment and affection.

It was at that moment that all three realized that this mission would truly be “super-awesome,” even if RX-27B had no idea what that meant.

One Response

  1. Reader, I programmed him.

Leave a Reply

