Play It Again


OK, I would say I hate to pick on Taylor Swift again, but, one, the first time is still one of the most-viewed posts on the blog, and, two, she totally brings it on herself.

And this is totally the result of me, as mentioned yesterday, listening to the radio again, I’ve been meaning to post this since at least last fall and maybe longer. I think about it every time I hear the song, but then forget before I get a chance to write it.

This morning, though, I heard “Our Song” on the radio just moments before getting to work, so it’s still fresh on my mind. It’s a cute, sweet song and all, but the part I have an issue with is this:

And he says…
Our song is the slamming screen doors,
Sneakin’ out late, tapping on your window
When we’re on the phone and you talk real slow
’cause it’s late and your mama don’t know

Wait … what? Why does talking slow help? I’m assuming that the issue is that her mom doesn’t know she’s on the phone that late, and she’s trying to prevent her mom from knowing. I could see that talking quietly would help; or, to fit the rhyme, maybe if she talked real low.

But slow? “Iiiiiiiii mmmmmiiiiiiiiisssssssssssss yyyooooooouuuuuuuuu”? Like her mom’s walking by, and hears something that sounds like Taylor talking, but at a speed that’s clearly wrong for human communication, and keeps going?

Me, I suspect her mom is totally clued in and doesn’t care, and Taylor’s dumb enough to think that her clever slow-talking trick has mama totally thrown off.

2 Responses

  1. He talks real LOW David, LOW…..like quiet!!

  2. I’m not sure. I hear SLOW, and Google pretty much agrees with me. Don’t see official lyrics on her site, but most of the lyrics online agree with slow.

Leave a Reply

