God Hates Twilight


OK, so it was probably the week that the latest Twilight movie came out that I first started seeing the joke going around the internet that Isaiah 1:14 shows that God hates the it:

Your New Moon festivals and your appointed feasts
my soul hates.
They have become a burden to me;
I am weary of bearing them.

Over the past weekend, I saw the joke posted again on Facebook, and it made me decide to go do some research on the subject on my own.

And, it turns out, the Bible does in fact have more to say about the subject. The most telling, I thought, was Isaiah 21:4:

My heart falters,
fear makes me tremble;
the Twilight I longed for
has become a horror to me.

From there, I ran a search for Eclipse, only to discover that there’s no Biblical reference to the third book and movie. But a search for Breaking Dawn revealed Isaiah 58:8a, which shows, obviously, that God is looking forward to the whole series just being done:

Then your light will break forth like the dawn,
and your healing will quickly appear …

(And, lest you think all of this is just coincidence, note that all the references come from the same prophetic book.)

Leave a Reply

