Fortune Favors The Foolish


Two of us brought Chinese food to Journey Group last night, and each of us had a fortune cookie.

Julian’s fortune was definitely the better of the two — “You will be succesful at everything.” Unlikely, perhaps, but still pretty cool.

Mine sounded pretty good on the surface — “Your most memorable dream will come true.” After all, who wouldn’t want their dreams to come true?

Except that then I stopped to think about what my most memorable dream was, and it’s almost certainly one I had recurringly, frequently and persistently for quite a while after starting my current job, and has even recurred this year, making it the most memorable just from repetition.

In the dream, I realize that I’m supposed to be a newspaperman, that it’s part of who I am, part of my identity, part of my make-up and character. And I leave my current job, and go back to work for the newspaper in Indianola.

In the dream, it takes less than a day, or maybe on rare occassions into a second day, before I realize what a horrible mistake I’ve made, and that I need to go back. Thankfully, always in the dream, I never actually quit my current job, and so I just show up back at work here the next day with no one the wise.

So, if I completely disappear for a day or two, you’ll know the fortune was right, and my most memorable dream has come true.

2 Responses

  1. I have essentially the same dream about returning to the newspaper business, except, while yours sounds fairly positive, mine is not. It’s a return that is forced and brings about misery. I guess that says a lot about our different experiences in the business, especially in the latter years for us both.

    It’s an interesting idea of dreams coming true. I wonder if most people thought about the things they dream about if they would still have a desire to see them come to pass. Even the happiest of dreams is frightening to me because, when all is said and done, we wake up and the dream ends.

    But more than that, if our dreams became reality, would reality then become the stuff of dreams? Would life become but a dream? Would we be forced to sit around a campfire and sing Row, Row, Row your boat with Kirk, Spock and McCoy?

    After all, I know that’s got to be everybody’s dream…

  2. Hm. It’s kind of like that scene in Voyage of The Dawn Treader, where they sail to someplace where dreams come true, and everyone is excited for a minute – until they realize that dreams are not day dreams, and start thinking about all of the crazy things that could actually happen – so they book it out of there.

    Seriously, that part of the book creeped me out as a kid.

Leave a Reply

