What Will You Say About Me? — Lori McKenna


(Anybody who has any conversation with me about music for any amount of time pretty quickly learns that one of my favorite artists, if not my absolute favorite artist, is Lori McKenna. She is an amazing writer; I am blown away by her ability to paint nuanced, believable and real emotional landscapes that reflect the fact that feelings are rarely simple, but are so often a roiling mixture of complementary and conflicting emotions. Anyway, a while back, Lori posted some unreleased tracks online. Since the lyrics weren’t available yet, I took it upon myself to transcribe them in case anyone was looking for them. [I made a good faith effort at the fourth track, “Happy Drunk,” but it was harder to make out completely.])

Forget the promises;
Swallow the pain;
Forgive ourselves our sins and learn to love again.

Look into new eyes, as hard as it gets;
Everybody lives with a little regret.

What will you say about me
When she asks how you know
About the color of the sun going down in Mexico?

And when she starts to fall,
Will it scare you at all?
Are you gonna tell the truth or hide it like a thief?
What will you say about me?

When you look over your shoulder
Will you see a mistake?
Or will you see the love that brought you to a better place?

What will you say about me
When she gets to your heart?
Do you tell her that I’m still holding a little part?

And when she starts to fall,
Will it scare you at all?
Are you gonna tell the truth or hide it like a thief?
What will you say about me?

What will you say about me
When she gets to your heart?
Will you tell her that I’m still holding a little part?

And when she starts to fall,
Will it scare you at all?
Are you gonna tell the truth or hide it like a thief?
What will you, what will you say about me?
What will you say about me?
What will you say about me?

Leave a Reply

