Lori McKenna — “It Hurts For A Reason” Lyrics


(Song Can Be Found Here: http://www.myspace.com/melaniehowardmusic. There was one word in this one that I couldn’t make out.)

Everybody says I should be over you by now,
But I just hold out.
Everybody tells me I’ll find somebody new to love,
But my heart’s sold out.

This is not some tearful goodbye,
I’ll feel better in the morning.

No, it hurts for a reason.

I can’t just love you and not love you anymore
Because you said so
And threw water on this flame.
I turn to ice every time I hear your name
Because you grew cold.

If pain is all that I have left,
Then let me have it for a while.
I won’t _______ you with a smile.

It hurts for a reason.
It hurts for a reason.
Love like this can’t come and go
without leaving one hell of a hole.

I won’t feel this way forever,
But I’ll feel this way forever because I want to.

I’ll give love another try.
And if right now I wonder why,
Because I have to.
When he goes in for that first good night kiss,
I’ll remember this …
I’ll remember this …
It hurts for a reason.
It hurts for a reason.
I know, it hurts, for a reason.

Leave a Reply

