And Another Thing…



There are some things that are just so … unlikely, or something, that despite the fact that they’re something I would be interested in, they just fall off my radar. Basically, my mind logs the information, decides it’s either not true, or too remote, or something, and puts it so far on the back burner that it disappears.

Which happened to me the other day. I had earned a $100 gift certificate from Amazon, and used it for a giant shopping spree, clearing out things that had spent months on my wishlist. It was a lot of fun, and I’ll post the results when my goodies arrive.

However, one thing I didn’t do was pre-order anything — there are books I’m very much looking forward to, like John Grisham’s Ford County, which comes out on Nov. 3, and Jasper Fforde’s Shades of Grey, which comes out Dec. 29. Since I wasn’t sure whether Amazon would wait to ship the rest of my load until they came out, I opted to limit it to books out currently.

But I was looking at my news feed today, and was reminded of a book that I had heard about, and was interested in, but which has completely slipped off my radar. Last I heard about it, it was being written, but sounded a long way from becoming reality. But the item in my news feed today actually had cover art for the book, which made me think it might be closer to publication.

And it is: Eoin Colfer’s And Another Thing…, the sixth book in Douglas Adams’ Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy trilogy, is going to be released on Monday.

So, for those of you out there who have read the DNA books … are you going to be reading AAT?

3 Responses

  1. As a rule, I tend to stay away from books like this. To me, when the author of a series dies, the series dies. I’ve never read any of the Brain Herbert follow ups to the Dune series, any of the Amber books written after Zelazney’s death.

    I did read the expansions of Asimov’s short stories such as Nightfall and The Ugly Little Boy by Robert Silverberg, but I feel those were a bit different since Asimov was involved in Silverberg’s work.

    And, to me, THHGTTG wasn’t just about the story, it was about Adams himself. His style. His humor. His look at like. To have someone else continue that just doesn’t seem appealing to me.

    This has just sounded like a horrible idea from the minute I heard about it.

  2. I agree, it has sounded like a horrible idea since I heard of it. But, like a train wreck, I can’t help but want to read it to see if it’s really as bad as I think it will be 🙂

    That being said, I’ve only managed to read about 1.5 books in the last 8 months (and one was a re-read). So my “to read” list is huge. Chances are, it’ll be a year or so before I get to it – by which time everyone else will have told me what *they* thought of it, so my opinion might change.

  3. I’m probably not going to read it. I’m with Joe, the HHGTTG books were mostly about having fun listening to Adams. The plots were often secondary and also often a bit weak in parts. The “trilogy” probably should have remained an actual trilogy, as well. IMHO, FWIW. DA FTW!

Leave a Reply

