The Rainbow Connection


Rainbow I saw on the way home from work last week.

Rainbow I saw on the way home from work last week.

I’ve really been meaning to post more lately than I’ve been able to, and it’s getting kind of frustrating. This, for example, should have been written and posted a couple of weeks ago, but wasn’t, and is a bit out of date now.

I’ve posted a couple of times about the video I was in for Sojourn about Noah, and have even posted a link to the video. During that service, the pastor preached about, shockingly, Noah, and ended talking about the rainbow, the symbol of God’s promise to Noah and humanity. He made an interesting point, that the word that is used to describe the rainbow is actually the word for an archery bow, and specifically a warrior’s bow; that God’s symbol of His promise to not destroy the world was a symbol of attack. I forget exactly how the pastor put it, but basically that there would have to be a price for fallenness, even without the world being destroyed. But that the bow points not toward man, but toward heaven; that God’s symbol was represented the violence that would have to be brought against His Son.

During all of this, however, I’m thinking back and trying to recall the last time I saw a rainbow, and really not coming up with anything in the remotely recent past. And, to be sure, I was very much at a point where a reminder of God’s promises would be a very good thing, and what does it mean when He’s not offering those reminders? Not that He’s going to break His promise, of course, but …

And, the funny thing was, immediately after that, several people I follow on Twitter started posting about seeing rainbows. Apparently, whether I’m seeing them or not, they are still out there.

But then, maybe a week later, I took the picture at the top of this post, of what was actually the second rainbow I’d seen in a couple of days. Just very cool to get that reassurance, right when I needed it.

And then, even cooler still, is the fact that, like I said, when I started writing this post, it was horribly untimely; it had been a couple of weeks or so since that I had happened, I just hadn’t posted the story.

But in the middle of writing this post, I went outside and saw this:

Rainbow and rockets

Rainbow and rockets

The picture doesn’t do it justice; one of my coworkers said it was probably the most beautiful rainbow she’d ever seen.

God does have His moments, you know?

One Response

  1. Wow. Certainly one of the most complete I’ve ever seen. This seems to go from point to point on the horizon and all the spectrum is distinct.

Leave a Reply

