Stone And Water


I had a notification on Facebook that someone had answered a question about me on one of those friend quizzes over the weekend. Ironically, the person had answered “yes” to the question, “Do you think David Hitt has showered today?” Normally, that would be a pretty safe bet. But on Sunday, when the question was asked … well, not so much.

I am sore today. Which is rather impressive. I mean, I’m not in the best of shape, but I’m in better shape than I used to be. I can hike or kayak for a good chunk of the day and not be the least bit sore. But last night, when I wanted to sit down, I had to bend as much as I could over a chair, and then just fall the rest of the way. I’m doing a bit better today, but, wow, are my upper legs sore. My hands and shins are also in a bit of pain, but that has more to do with the cuts and scrapes than the muscles.

My rock-climbing technique on my first time out lacked something to be desired; as bad as I was at it, I still managed to overcommit, and my exposed skin paid the price for it. I did finally manage to make to the anchor on a climb, so the endeavor was a success, but after proving to myself that I could do it, I chose instead to work on my technique and come back down when it got too taxing, versus doing too much more damage to myself that I would regret this week. That said, I’m very much looking to trying again, hopefully with some better shoes and pants next time.

The rock-climbing was part of a three-day, two-night camping trip I went on with some friends this past weekend. We camped at the rock-climbing site at Sand Rock, and hiked at Little River Canyon (site of the Alabama episode of Man vs. Wild, in honor of which I poked something with a stick. Didn’t bite anything, though).

The hiking was much more my scene than the climbing, and was the one part of the trip where I was one of the more capable members of the group, which was nice. The old man can keep up, at times. Plus, I had my trusty Katrina stick, though I even loaned it out for a while.

Camping was interesting; it’s the first time I’ve been in decades, and may be the first time I’ve camped at a facility where there weren’t convenient restroom/shower facilities nearby. It was rather amusing, though, to be somewhere with no showers, no toilets, no electricity, and yet to still be able to listen to part of the Ole Miss game on my iPhone (45-14! No. 6! Hotty Toddy!). Part of me wished there was no signal, just to elminate the temptation.

It was also a lot of fun to see my friend Mathis (who turned 30 during the trip; happy birthday!) in his element; he was, without question, the defacto leader of the group, and the one we turned to to deal with anything. Mathis was, quite simply, the man this weekend. It was also great meeting new people; it’s cool how you get to know people in a relatively short period of time doing something like that.

Plus, we had smores. Mmmmm, tasty tasty smores. To say nothing of the best Shells N’ Cheese, I’ve ever had in my life.

So, yeah, I’m very much looking forward to doing something like that again. But not until I can walk normally again.

2 Responses

  1. Sounds like a good adventure. I just realized, I’m actually not in the world of Facebook. We are pretty dependant on it these days.
    So, have you showered today?

  2. Heh. Yep. And used a substantial amount of shampoo since this weekend, trust me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

