Developing Story


Polaroid film and camera kit.

Polaroid film and camera kit.

Lain shared with me this story about how the last Polaroid instant film will be sold at Urban Outfitters as part of film-and-camera kits. Only 700 of the kits would be available.

I’d known that Polaroid was discontinuing the film, and it seemed tragic living in a world without Polaroid instant film. So I started stocking up, and now have a drawer in my refrigerator full of it, as well as two instant cameras. I can’t speak to the quality of the film, since some of it had been on a shelf for an extended period of time before I refrigerated it.

I also have no idea what I’m going to do with it. I started saving it just for the sake of having it later to do something cool with. Later, I’d had the thought that it would have been great for a wedding, to basically use as a guest book. And, of course, I could use it if I ever lose my short-term memory, like in Memento.

Leave a Reply

