Bookends


I write.

It’s what I do. It’s a huge part of who I am. I wish I did it better. I’m already wishing the blog post you’re not even two paragraphs into were pithier or something. I wish that last sentence had ended with something better than “or something.” But writing is one of the few things that I consider to be truly integral about me. Wherever life takes me, I can’t imagine it leaving my love affair with words in the past.

And Friday was a day that really captured that for me, thanks to a very neat juxtaposition of items waiting for me in my mailbox when I got home that evening.

Five-and-a-half years after I began working on Homesteading Space: The Skylab Story, I finally received my first royalty check as a book author. (Well, not counting the advance I got when I signed the contract.)

At the same time, I also got my free copy of The World According to Twitter that I received for contributing to the book. For anyone who would like to read something I wrote in a book, but just can’t bring themselves to pick up Homesteading, there’s now a much-more-accessible alternative.

In fact, I’m very proud of the fact that I’m included in the Twitter book for writing one word, of eight letters. It’s got to be pretty close to the low end of original content that has earned someone inclusion in a book. (Making that even cooler is the fact that my good friend Lain Hughes is profiled in the book for being the person who contributed the most to it; most likely making he and I the greatest and least contributors.)

That said, as neat as those two things are, it also drove home why I do this. The royalty check was not particularly large — on the low end of three digits. Which was still better than one of my co-authors, whose invoice actually had a negative number on it. The free Twitter book was certainly more than fair recompense for the time I put into my contribution, which, again, was nothing to write home about. Both items in the mail were neat to receive, but neither was really enough to be the motivation to keep going; I’m not ever going to receive fame, glory or riches for this.

I write because I love it. I write because it’s what I do,

Leave a Reply

