I Run To You


So I will listen to contemporary Christian and praise and worship music; there’s a pretty fair amount on my iPod, and WayFM is one of the presets in my car radio.

But I’m not exclusionary about it; there’s a lot of music on my iPod, and WayFM is only one of nine preset stations.

Part of the reason for that is that I find it to be a false dichotomy. One, there are bands like U2 that aren’t going to make it onto the Christian station, but have worship songs as good as anything you’ll find there.

But, two, there are plenty of songs that speak to who He is completely unintentionally. I blogged a while back about Garrison Starr’s Big Sky, which is very much that way for me.

Another favorite along those lines is Lori McKenna’s If You Ask (which some may know from Faith Hill’s cover). The song is about dealing with a spouse with addiction issues, but it’s an amazing picture of God’s grace and patience with us, as well.

If you ask for my forgiveness
If you call my name I will come
If you ask for my love I will give you some

Some day I know you will understand
Some day you’ll finally realize
What you’re doing to yourself

We’ve been dancing to that same old song
Over and over again
I want to be your lover
I don’t want to be your policeman

And it just wrecks me, to think about Him waiting there, knowing that He wants the best for us, knowing what is best for us, knowing that we’re working to screw up our lives, and that as hard as it is, He has to wait and let us do it until we’re tired of it. That our free will means He can’t make us come to Him, can’t make us love Him, can’t make us rely on Him, can’t make us let Him fix it. He just waits, until we do.

That picture, of just standing there, waiting patiently for the call, no matter what happens, just wrecks me. It literally brings tears to my eyes, almost every time, thinking both about how badly I fall short of being able to offer that in relationships, and thinking about how He must feel standing there, His hand open in offering, just waiting for me to finish being a fool.

And that last bit — how easy is it for us to picture God wanting to be our policeman, creating and enforcing the rules. But the reality is, He would probably much rather be able to stop worrying about protecting us from the harm we stupidly inflict on ourselves, and be able to just enjoy His relationship with us.

OK, this post has proved to be way more rambling than I intended. The point was going to be, another song very much became that way for me this weekend. I’ve been enjoying Lady Antebellum’s “I Run To You” for a while, but didn’t fully appreciate until this weekend that, really, swap out the Baby’s for Father’s (or your preference of divine appelation), and it works better as a worship song than a love song. (I mean, I believe firmly in romantic love and all, but, really, if you believe “our love’s the only truth” about any partner but Him, you’re probably setting yourself up for disappointment.)

I run from hate
I run from prejudice
I run from pessimists
But I run too late

I run my life
Or is it running me?
Run from my past
I run too fast
Or too slow it seems

When lies become the truth
That’s when I run to you

This world keeps spinning faster
To a new disaster, so I run to you
I run to you

When it all starts coming undone
You’re the only one I run to
I run to you

We run on fumes
Your life and mine
Like the sands of time
Slippin’ right on through

Our love’s the only truth
That’s why I run to you

This world keeps spinning faster
To a new disaster, so I run to you
I run to you

When it all starts coming undone
You’re the only one I run to
I run to you

Oh oh, oh I run to you

This world keeps spinning faster
To a new disaster, so I run to you
I run to you

When it all starts coming undone
You’re the only one I run to
I run to you, I run to you
Yeah

Oh oh, oh I run to you
I’ll run to you
Oh Oh

I always run to you

One Response

  1. Last resort lovers…not very romantic. I thank the Lord for the Love in my life.

Leave a Reply

