“Duh, Losing” — Of Weight Loss And Haircuts


So after the last weigh-in for the weight-loss contest we’re doing at work, I stalled.

For like a week, I was plateaued in this three-pound-or-so range, and couldn’t break out of it.

It was frustrating.

And then, finally, progress!

Big losses (more than a pound) two days in a row!

Like, three pounds in a two-day period!

Hoorah!

But –

On the second day, I’d gotten my haircut.

I mean, like, a serious haircut. Probably the most substantial haircut I’d ever had.

david hitt, haircut

And it occurred to me –

What if that day’s weight loss was really just the haircut?

Could I have had a pound of hair cut from my head?

Heather and I debated it. She pointed out that her pony tail couldn’t weigh a pound. I replied that her pony tail was less hair that I’d had cut. She said that it wasn’t, that her pony tail was most of the hair on her head. I disagreed. Sigh.

But –

Then I realized, that if there’s one thing I’ve learned from romantic comedies in the mid-90s, it’s that the human head weighs eight pounds. (If there’s another, it’s that you should show me the money.)

And there’s no way the hair I had cut off was an eighth of the mass of my head.

So I must be losing weight.

Hoorah.

(I’m still not above the idea of getting another drastic haircut before the last weigh-in, though.)

3 Responses

  1. What the…???

  2. It’s just important that you used the scientific method. It’s also important that you never forget Jerry Maguire.

  3. And what’s with that smiley face? Is that like your blogster egg?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,130 other followers

