2010 in Statuses (Extended Edition)


So there’s a Facebook app that lets you create a college of statuses from the year, but it only gives you a limited amount of space. Also, for some reason, mine only let me choose statuses beginning in February. Oh well. Anyway, here’s the mural I created using the Facebook app, and below the cut is an extended version of some of the highlights from my 2010 statuses.

JANUARY • is having an Epiphany. • enjoyed seeing B.B. King in my hometown this time. About time he returned the favor • is curious what the future holds. Interesting times.

FEBRUARY • was awoken by JoCasta Green seven years ago today to be given the bad news. Not a good day. Godspeed, STS-107, and thank you. • apparently is going this weekend to see one of NASA’s last manned space launches. Weird. Wasn’t figuring on that when I started planning the trip. • enjoyed the confusion, alternate timelines, cliffhangers, uncertain future, creative plotlines and new characters. And, then, after the NASA budget announcement, LOST was pretty good, too. Should be an interesting season. :-) • is serious. • is struggling for a lead to my STS-131 educator overview feature. מה נשתנה תעופה הזה מכל תעופות •  has now rehearsed, at least some, and is looking forward to improv shows this weekend. Have I mentioned that? • has improved.

MARCH • has really met his snow quota for the year, I think. • will be playing TONIGHT in the FIRST EVER Face2Face Improv show at Sam & Greg’s pizzeria and gelato shop on the square in downtown Huntsville!! • has reason to believe we all will be received in Graceland. • ashira l’adonai ki ga’oh ga’ah!! • will see the crew of the last launch I went to today as I’m looking forward to my next launch in a few days!!

APRIL • is leaving NASA to take a job as a public relations writer for Microsoft’s Zune team!! Moving to Seattle will let me finally pursue my dream of becoming a professional musician!! Also, I’m pregnant! • wishes everyone a very happy Easter. May the grace of our Lord be with you, now and always; may you stay blameless till He comes. • completed the hat trick — I’ve seen all three orbiters launch!! Godspeed, Discovery!!! • is glad that Space Camp alum Dottie was able to make it into orbit without the dreaded Thermal Curtain Failure. • needs more sleep. But, there will be time to sleep when I’m dead. From exhaustion. • has a main B bus undervolt. • put on my blue suede shoes and I boarded the plane. • is watching students drop things. • is going to brave the storms of New Orleans to see Simon & Garfunkel at Jazz Fest! • saw three roads diverge, and I chose the road less barbecued by, shockingly.

MAY • is celebrating Cinco de Mayo, the traditional Mexican observance of the western hemisphere’s first manned spaceflight! • is feeling a bit “homesick,” so … Where does the Southern cross the Dog?” • runs my life, or is it running me? • is skipping tomorrow’s space shuttle launch in favor of a country music concert. Who am I, and what have I done with me? • congratulates Matthew Hitt on his graduation! So proud of you!! • hopes the finale of Lost answers all of the biggest questions I still have — what should I do with my life? why do fools fall in love? how many roads must a man walk down before they call him a man? • is now officially done with television. Wheeeee… • knows where his towel’s at!

JUNE • is writing. • has got no reason for the things I fear, the things that plague when I see and hear. • is procrastinating from writing by talking about writing. That’s gotta be worth something, right? • is not really here. • is looking forward to two Jewel concerts tonight! ‘Cause I’m just that awesome! • is going to have to learn to make blackberry cobbler. Be very afraid. • should learn a valuable lesson from this. But won’t. (Sadly, that’s true of any number of things right now.) • got his new iPhone last night, finally. Shiny!

JULY • looks forward to getting the band back together. • is feeling rather uncreative, Facebook-status-wise. Alas. • is debating buying a kayak. Hmmmm…. • is twice as far from Memphis as Sheryl Crow. • was sick. But now he’s better. Mostly.

AUGUST • kayaked. • hiked. • is older than I once was, but younger than I’ll be; that’s not unusual. • is blessed. • will be attending the U.S. Space Camp Hall of Fame to celebrate the induction of another friend this year. • encourages residents of Huntsville’s City Council District 3 to cast their votes for Jonathan Hitt in Tuesday’s election.• shot a man in Reno, just to watch him die.

SEPTEMBER • is hoping his air-conditioner is, in fact, fixed. That would be cool. • wonders whether Ole Miss starts its football season this weekend.

OCTOBER • bought 15 books on Saturday. That may have been excessive. Three of them were gifts, though, so that’s something. • Hotty Toddy, Gosh Almighty, who the hell are we? No, seriously, who the hell are we? Some sort of bear or something? Really? • is looking forward to a rollercoaster of a weekend. • likes to talk to tomatoes.

NOVEMBER • has been having fun and all this week, but is kind of hoping for a launch soon. • survived. • is looking forward to hanging with my 5 Points Journey Group peeps after way too long! • just won my first game of Candyland ever! Hurrah!! • should be writing this afternoon. But John Grisham isn’t going to read himself. (He has people to do that for him.) • is thankful. • did a ton of shopping over the holiday weekend. I should probably start looking to buy things for OTHER people now, though.

DECEMBER • is goin’ to Jackson; look out Jackson town! If any of my Mississippi peeps are gonna be in the area this weekend, let me know! • learned that subtraction can be much harder when you’re having to explain it to a second-grader. Oh, the things we take for granted. • is posting my first Facebook update from the MacBook. • wants quiet in the theater or it’s gonna get tragic — we’re about to get taken to a dream world of magic! • fights for the Users.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,388 other followers

