What A Waist!


This is the latest in my series of blog entries taking a fresh look at a variety of topics over the next year. I’ve set up a page on the blog explaining the project and linking to my entries. This post’s topic is “Your Waistline.”

The latest decline began on May 29. 2009.

My weight has been an ongoing battle for me, a battle that’s seen some pretty decent victories and some unfortunate losses. (“Losses” in that case meaning gains, and vice versa.)

On that Friday last year, some friends came in from out of town, and I gained a bit of weight while they were here. There was some other stuff that was going on in my life at the same time, and as a result, I never recovered from that weekend. Instead, it marked the beginning of a gradual decline (and by “decline,” I mean increase) that has continued for over a year now.

Historically speaking, I can counteract it. I once lost 80 pounds in a year, and that’s given me a fair amount of confidence that at this point has probably crossed over into overconfidence. I’ve never matched that feat since, but I’ve lost a substantial amount of weight one other time since then.

At this point, I’m scared. Scared that age has caught up with me, and that I’m not going to be able to lose it again like I have in the past.

But the truth is, I’m not really trying. I’m telling myself I’m too busy to go to the gym. That it’s too hot to go for a hike. That it doesn’t matter if I eat another piece of candy from my coworker’s desk. And I’m paying the price for it. I’m very aware of the costs of being so out-of-shape, and I’m tired of it.

It’s time for me to get serious. I’m hoping I have the wherewithal for that to mean something other than just writing a blog post saying I need to.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,131 other followers

