Gift of Tongues


This is the latest in my series of blog entries taking a fresh look at a variety of topics over the next year. I’ve set up a page on the blog explaining the project and linking to my entries. This post’s topic is “Your Taste Buds.”

This week’s topic is “Your Taste Buds.” Next weeks’ is “Your Waistline.”

Really, that’s probably enough of a post right there.

The two are very much related. I’m a sensualist to a fault. I enjoy feeding the senses. In some cases, that’s not a problem; my love of aural pleasure in the form of good music, for example, has caused me no major difficulties in life that I recall. In other cases, it’s more of a problem. My love of good food has made me the man I am today, weight-wise.

Ideally, I need to do better to balance those things. I love the experience, for example, of a hike, for related reasons. I love the sights, the sounds, the tactile interaction with nature. If I loved hiking more and good food less, that might be a bit healthier. Sadly, to be honest, I’m reaching the point where the one is impinging on the other; I’ve put on enough weight lately that the hike experience is not what it was back in the winter, and that’s very unfortunate.

I wish I had greater insight for this post, beyond I should eat better and exercise more, but, really, that’s kind of where I am right now. When I heard the topic, those are the thoughts that came to mind. So, if anything, this is a public confession. I need to stop being a slothful glutton, and get myself back in shape. Hopefully I’ll remember that, and this post, the next time I’m tempted to make a pig of myself in front of my blog readers. Feel free to point it out to me.

Sigh.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,177 other followers