More Linkdump


Turning and turning in the widening gyre
The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
Things fall apart; the center cannot hold;
Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world …

Surely some revelation is at hand …

Various and sundry:

– Not a link, but I suffered horrible heartbreak last weekend before going to Vegas. I made yet another attempt to go to the all-you-can-eat barbecue buffet that had become my Moby Dick over the past year — For months, it tasked me, and yet eluded my every attempt to eat there. And now, it’s closed. Alas. On the plus side, however, I did get to do some Brazilian-style dining while in Vegas, fulfilling a far more longstanding dream.

– Someday soon, I’m going to tell a story about some Polaroid film, as soon as I know what the story is. I will say it involves this old post and a photographer friend of mine, who takes pretty pictures.

– For anyone who hasn’t seen it, First-Person Tetris is an interesting take on the game, even if the title is a bit misleading.

– There was a day when I realized that I’d been living in the Mississippi Delta too long. That day was the day that I opened up The Clarion-Ledger, the Jackson paper, and saw a brief news story about how they’d discovered a problem with one of the fuel lines on the space shuttle. That, however, wasn’t what I thought it meant when I read the short headling — “Crack Found In Space Shuttle Fuel Pipe.” I even did a fake news story for the assistant police chief about the Indianola Police Department seizing the shuttle after finding the drugs and converting to be his new IPD vehicle. That’s why, even though it’s a horrible story, I was rather amused when my coworker Heather sent me a story headlined “Cocaine Found In Restricted Space Shuttle Facility.” On a side note, the facility was OPF3, where I saw Discovery back in May.

– This, I found rather cool. My Google notification alerted me to this article with a video about a supposed UFO sighting from Skylab. The video is interesting but bunk. The cool part, though, is that in debunking it, someone posted a comment citing Homesteading Space. That makes me happy.

– In other Homesteading news, if you would like to buy the book in Japanese, you can. Note that the book isn’t in Japanese, just the buying process. I’m curious what the “著” behind my name means. I think I’ll get it as a tattoo. ;-)

– In other other Homesteading Space news, Owen Garriott and I will be signing the book at 1 p.m. on January 30 at the U.S. Space & Rocket Center, prior to the annual gala event that evening.

– Fans of Despair Inc. and candy message hearts can combine both with BitterSweets.

– If Avatar gave you a headache, you’re not alone. (Speaking purely about the effects here.)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,131 other followers