I Never MetaBlogged I Didn’t Like


OK, this post is going to border on what a friend of mine refers to as “oblivious” blogging.

But I’m not going to explain exactly what “oblivious” blogging means, in part because I don’t fully understand.

Nor am I going to name the friend, because that’s the whole point of this entry. Well, the main point of this entry is to explain why I’ve been quieter on here lately, without actually explaining why I’ve been quieter on here lately. Pretty oblivious, huh?

I have a Google reader news feed aggregator I check pretty regularly, and I’ve subscribed to most of my friends’ blogs. So when I check it today, there are two blog posts about events I was involved with. Neither of them mentions me.

Someone I know wrote a blog post a while back — which I won’t link to, since that would reveal who it was, and defeat the point of this post — about privacy, particularly online privacy, and the extent to which our privacy is at the mercy of other people. I may share with no one about what I did on the way to rehearsal Monday, but if someone else who was involved does, the story is public. A week and a half ago, I went to the Space Camp Hall of Fame induction. I did write about it, but took no pictures there. However, by the time I got to work on Monday, pictures of me had been posted to at least two Web sites. Since one of those was Facebook, the pictures showed up on my profile.

Why did neither of those two blog posts mention me? I don’t know. Maybe the writers wanted to protect my privacy, not talk about my life without my permission. Maybe they wanted to protect their own privacy, and not let people know that I was the person involved. (In one case, there wasn’t even mention that anyone else was there.)

I’ve done a good bit of the former. There have been blog posts that I’ve written that involved other characters that I don’t talk about, in deference to their privacy. Sometimes that means talking about something I did with “a friend” or “a coworker.” Sometimes it means writing about something I did with someone else, and leaving out the fact anyone else was there. But the former is predicated on the identity being irrelevant, and the latter is predicated on their participation being irrelevant.

And for a lot of stories, that’s just not the case. So those stories just don’t get told.

It’s an interesting issue, and one that I’m becoming increasingly aware of. Where’s the line? What’s the limit? Six years ago, I would have thought nothing of coming in to work and talking about my weekend; and part of me still sees my blog as an extension of that. On the other hand, it’s also a publication, in a way.

OK, enough rambling. Thoughts? How does anyone else with a blog handle this issue?

One Response

  1. Yikes! So I never really thought much about privacy on the internet until the beginning of this year. I mean, I didn’t post when I would be out of town (er… most of the time?), and I knew that some of my friends were really careful with what they posted about others – I just thought they were trying not to hurt anyone’s feelings, or something. The point is, I didn’t give it much thought at all.

    But now. Now I think about it every time I post. I didn’t post that Chad was out of town for 4 days (until he got back). I talk about Brianna on my blog, but don’t post pictures of her online (except behind password sites, like facebook, and then they are friends only). I won’t post the name of her new daycare or teachers (although I may refer to them in the future as Miss A-, or Miss V-, etc.).

    I guess my thought is that once I put it on the internet, it’s there forever. And that’s a little scary. Certain people are close enough to me that I know how they feel about the internet and what’s posted there (So I can pretty much post anything about Chad, and mention some friends in passing when appropriate)… but generally, I don’t post anything detailed about people (by name) if I don’t know their stance on internet openness (for lack of a better term), or if they have a good reason to not want information on the internet (luckily for me, I don’t know anyone in witness protection or anything, so as long as I’m not posting about other people’s marriages/relationships, I’m pretty safe here).

    Unnamed snarkyness is always in style, though – I have been known to do that (see my last rant on daycare teachers trying to tell me how to parent). Often. So much, in fact, that I have thought about renaming my blog to “Snark Attack”, or “This is my (passive-aggressive) brain”, lol.

    So it all boils down to this: The interweb is a scary place, yo. Even scarier now that I’m responsible for someone else. So names (especially last names) are something I use, but I try to be mindful of how I use them. The same with pictures (hence the boring, mostly text-only trend on my blog).

    On the other hand, I’m not too offended if other people mention me on their blog… as long as there are no pictures of me dancing on tables or anything ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,388 other followers

